top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge 112118


Spirited Snowmen Skating

Hello and Welcome to this week's Broke Stampers Unite Challenge. This is our Technique week and we have chosen to do the Black Ice Technique. I have done this before maybe about 10 mos ago or so. It's been a while so I had to do a refresher course by checking out Pinterest. I will try and find my post from then as well. Look for that in the Related Posts section below. Basically though you use foil paper....here I used silver and with a black stazon ink pad you swipe it from top to bottom over your silver foil paper. Give it a second to dry and then stamp your image also in stazon black ink. Again letting it dry. Once it's good to go take your versamark pad and swipe it down your paper as well and the heat emboss it with clear embossing powder. It gives it an iced look and adds some interesting texture to the card front.

Now of course I have to not play by the rules and I added a bit of color to mine before I used the versamark pad in it. It was an experiment really to see how it would work and it was just great! Using my Stampin Blends Alcohol Markers I added a little bit of color to my snowman's nose, scarf and hat. I also added some to the ice rink he's skating on. A different take on the technique. I like it.

Once I had my Black Ice part done I trimmed it to 4 x 4.25 and layered it onto a piece of Basic Black cardstock. That was all layered onto a card base of Blueberry Bushel cardstock that I cut to 4.25 x 11 and scored at 5.5. I ran the card front through the Big Shot using the Swirls and Curls embossing folder.

If you'd like more details on how to do this technique you can easily search for "Black Ice Tutorials" on Pinterest and there are several to choose from.

Now I will invite you to head on over to Terri's Blog HERE and Stace's Blog HERE to see what they came up with for this fun challenge.

Hope your Thanksgiving Eve is going well! We started our day with shopping and cooking and shopping and more cooking and preparing for dinner tomorrow. Yesterday I got caught up in decorating the house for Christmas which wasn't at all my intention but well it happened and now it's done and I no longer need to be worried about! Yaaaaay!

Hope you all have a great Holiday. Stampin' Up! is offering a 10% off sale from the 23-28th I'll show a flyer below that explains the sale. But if you'd like to take advantage of a 10% discount on Annual Catalog Items you can follow the sale schedule below.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING and BLACK FRIDAY shopping....CAROL

15 views0 comments
bottom of page