top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge 092618


Hello everyone and welcome to this weeks Broke Stampers Unite Challenge for Wednesday September 26th. Today's challenge is the Sketch Week Challenge and it's created by Terri this time. Let's take a look at it...

Now for this card I knew I wanted to use the Farmhouse Christmas bundle. I shared a card with you Monday on this set and I wanted to play with it a bit more. I also knew i wanted to use some shimmer paint and embossing paste so what a great opportunity to do just that. So let me take a minute to explain what I did here.

Starting with a base of Mossy Meadow cardstock cut to 8.5 x 5.5 and folded at 4.25. I cut three panels of Whisper White that I cut to approximately 1.5 by 4 ( I started out at 1.75 but then ended up trimming them down more. On those panels I stamped the tree image using tuxedo black momento ink. I colored each tree in using a crumb cake stampin blends alcohol marker. I then adhered those to the card base and set that aside.

Next i stamped the house image and the truck image and using the matching thinlits cut those out and colored them in again using stampin blends markers. Cherry Cobbler, Crumb Cake, Light Night Of Navy, Shaded Spruce and Pool Party.

Once I had them all colored in I cut a piece of Whisper White to about 2.5 x 4 and layered a piece of Crumb Cake cardstock behind it leaving just about an 1/8 of an inch border.

I stamped my sentiment onto the top corner of that piece and then adhered the house and truck onto it where I wanted it. I then finished off the card with some embossing paste to give it the look of snow on the top of the house, in the yard and on the truck. I used a spatula to just dab it on where I wanted it. I then as an after thought dabbed on some white shimmer paint over it to give the snow a glistening look. I suppose you could mix a drop into your paste first but like I said for me it was an after thought but it still worked just as well.

So there ya have it. What do ya think? I like the way it came out and I can't wait to play a little more with this set.

Thank You Terri for the great sketch to work with. Sometimes a new sketch is all you need to get you motivated again.

Tonight is the season finale of Big Brother and I have been watching pretty much 24/7 for the last 99 days. LOL Time to get through that and get back to crafting. I have a bunch of Halloween cards and Fall cards I need to get working on. So be looking for some more fun ideas coming your way! (I want to put away the Christmas cards for a bit.....It's way too early for me to be doing Christmas LOL) I do know some of you like to get started early so that's why I share a little bit of Christmas. BUT! I have some great fall sets that need some ink and I want to get my Halloween cards done before I go on my little adventure to see the grandkids next month.

Now that you have seen what I have come up with for this sketch it's time to head on over to Terri's Blog here and Stace's Blog Here and see what they came up with for this week. Remember you can always play along with us and share your creations on out facebook group Here. We'd love to see what you do with this sketch.

Thank You so much for stopping in today....I have a product list listed below in case you need any of these awesome products used today. Just click on the image and it will take you to my online store.

Have a great day and HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL

23 views0 comments
bottom of page