top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge 092018


Hello and Welcome to this weeks Broke Stampers Unite Challenge. This is technique week and we are trying out the Woodland Faux technique.

I have seen this done a few times but have never personally tried it myself so I was glad we were going to give it a try. I'm going to do my best to explain it here but you can always look up on Pinterest for videos of it if that helps you more.

So what is it? For those of you that haven't ever seen this done, you take an embossing folder and before placing your cardstock in it to run it through you are going to ink it up a bit and stamp onto it. Let me explain.

I'm using the Woodland Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. I laid it flat on the table with the label side at the top...

I then took a foam brayer and inked it up in the pool party ink pad and rolled the ink onto the embossing folder....

Once that was done I took the canopy of leaves image from the Sheltering Tree stamp set and using a combination of Pumpkin Pie and Crushed Curry ink I stamped the image a few times directly onto the inside of the embossing folder.

Next I placed my piece of Whisper White cardstock inside the folder careful not to move it around too much so I didn't smear the ink. I then closed up the folder and ran it through the big shot.

The result was a layer that looks like this......

Isn't that cool? It makes it look like the leaves are behind the trees. I was having a heck of a time sponging on the dark ink for the tree trunks so i decided to just use a stampin write marker to add those....you 'll see that in my finished card here....

I layered my Faux Woodland layer onto a cardstock base of Early Espresso and stamped my sentiment in pumpkin pie ink and layered that on the front.

I have seen various renditions of this technique where they added some other stamped images like trees or animals, a house...even a truck. So you have a lot of options with what you stamp behind the trees. But after I messed mine up a few times I decided just to go with the leaves, LOL

Now I'm going to ask you to head on over to Terri's Blog Here and then Stace's Blog Here and see what they came up with for this technique. I always love to look at our different takes on it. I'll leave you now with a product list of items I used and I's like to say Thank You So Much for stopping by!

Have a great day....HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL

40 views0 comments
bottom of page