top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge 081518


Country Home stamp set

Hey everyone, I'm a bit late on getting the Blog post done for this weeks BSU challenge. I did get this posted yesterday on my Facebook page if you were able to see it there then you know that I am once again having a computer issue. UGH Seems the last update wasn't very agreeable. IDK but hopefully we can get it ironed out soon.

The challenge this week was a Technique challenge and we chose to do the White Washed Watercolor Technique. Yes it was new to me as well so I had to look it up. Thank You Patty Bennett!

1. To start off you will need a piece of darker cardstock. On that you'll want to stamp you image in Craft White ink and heat emboss it with White embossing powder.

2. Next you'll want to take a bit of the Craft White ink refill and using a plastic lid drop a couple drops of refill and you will paint it on your embossed image using an Aqua Painter. Just gently squeeze out a bit of water from the Aqua Painter just to get the tip wet. Color in your whole image white like I did in the picture. Let that dry for a couple hours or just hit it with your heat gun to speed the process. I can't wait that long so I went with the heat gun method.

3. Now you will want to add your color. I started out with some Coastal Cabana ink but for thought it was too light so I went to a darker choice of Bermuda Bay.

There....that's better I then just took my time and finished coloring in my image....I used some Granny Apple Green, Crushed Curry, Soft Suede and just continued to paint in the image. When I was all finished it looked something like this....

I hit again with the heat gun to dry it up and then, using the Stitched Shapes framelits I cut the image into an oval shape.

I prepared my card base by dry embossing it with the Tufted Textured Impression Embossing Folder on some Early Espresso cardstock. I added a strip of the Country Lane designer series paper and a bit of the Double Stitched Daffodil Delight ribbon. Using stamping dimensionals i adhered the oval layer onto the card front. I stamped the sentiment in Early Espresso ink and trimmed it down before sticking it to the card.

Let's look at it again....

Country Home stamp set

If you haven't tried this technique before I suggest you give it a try. This was my first attempt at in and I might have to try this again soon.

Now I encourage you to head on over to Terri's Blog Here and Stace's Blog Here and see what they created for this fun technique challenge.

Thank You so much for stopping in I hope your day is off to a great start. I do hope you will give this technique a try and if you do and want to share then head on over to our FACEBOOK page here and share your creation with us. Remember that all of the products I used today can be found in my online store here.

Have a great day....HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

130 views0 comments
bottom of page