top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Perennial Birthday & a lil Experimenting


Perennial Birthday

Hello and Thank You for stopping in. Today's card share is one I was playing around with the other day. I haven't used a blender pen in years and so I was testing out how to use it with Ink Pads.

There's a few different things going on with this card because like I said I was experimenting. The flowers on the bottom left were stamping in Archival Black ink and then colored in using a Blender pen and the inside of the ink pad lid. The leaves behind them were stamped in Wild Wasabi ink and then colored in with the blender pen in Wild Wasabi ink. I like the way they came out. They have the green outlines and the same color through out. Unlike having the black outlines and the color inside.

The other bunch with the flower and leaves on the top right was done different still. The flower was stamped in Bermuda Bay and colored in with a Stampin Blends marker. You can see how it smeared the lines some. Now yes I know that's not the ink combination you are supposed to use when using the blends but like I said I was just playing around with it. It's not a BAD look it's just not one that I find favorable. I think if I'm going to use a blender pen I would stick to dabbing it in an ink pad lid. That seemed to give me the best result.

I had always used blender pens back in the day to color in with pastels. Since we don't carry the pastels I don't use them anymore and in turn I quit using the blender pens. I will make more of a point of breaking out the blender pens after this little session with them. Obviously I need to work with them a bit more to get better results but I think this has renewed my interest in them. Shout out to Shelly for asking me about them, I probably still wouldn't have picked them up again if you hadn't.

The card base is made from Daffodil Delight cardstock and i embossed it using the Layering Leaves Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. The layer behind my stamped layer in Calypso Coral.

I know this is kind of a different blog post than I normally do but I wanted to show you how you need to just experiment with something and not be afraid to try it. Just because you tried it once a long time ago doesn't mean it's not worth a look back and retry. LOL You never know....you might find interest in it again! :)

I'm going to leave you with that thought. I'm hoping to get out and do some "Non Business" Adventures today. I'll be back tomorrow with another BSU post and a look at some other ideas I'm having. Have a great day everyone.....HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page