top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Happy Birthday - and SNOW?


Butterfly Basics stamp set

Hello and welcome to today's card share. I was feeling a bit of that in between of "should I stamp Christmas cards.....or should I just make something different? Different won.

When I get to the point of not being sure what to stamp I have a tenancy to look to the Catalog for inspiration, and that's exactly what I did here. There's this great card on page 149 of the annual catalog and I thought....hmmm I can make that.

So I started with a base of Crumb Cake and on it I stamped the bottom border in Basic Black ink and then I stamped and heat embossed the flower image twice. I then added the fern leaf element embossed in Gold. I stamped the Happy Birthday in basic gray on Whisper White card stock and banner cut the ends. I used a mini stapler to attach the banner. Once all that was done, I cut out the detailed butterfly shape in Basic Black using the matching butterfly framelits. I finished the whole thing off by tying some linen thread around the center of the Butterfly and layering it on the front with some Dimensionals.

I had plan to use this as just a warm up card but last night here in South Texas the whole city was in awe because we got snow! Yep we sure did. somewhere around 2-3 inches depending on what part of the city you were in. Now some of you might think..."Snow? well that's no big deal!" But here in South Central Texas it is. I lived here for 7 years and have seen it snow just once before....and that was the year we got here. LOL

Needless to say everyone was pretty excited. It brought the neighbors out into the streets to stand and watch this wonderful sight.

Yup....that's it. It may not be much....and believe me I'm glad it's not. (I'm not a fan of snow) when I got up this morning it was almost melted away. Yaaaaay.

So I never did get back to stamping last night so my message today is that when you are stuck you can always look to the catalog for inspiration. That's one of the reasons we have it. To Inspire all of us.

Thanks for stopping in today! Hope your Holiday Preparations are going well. We did manage to purchase some out door lights for this year but have yet to actually get them mounted on the house. LOL Baby steps. Have a great day.....and HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

All of the items used in today's card can be purchased in my online store Here.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page