top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

The Stockings Were Hung


Hello and Welcome,


I was having so much fun with yesterday's Holly Jolly set that I decided to focus on the stockings stamp in this set. Now let me start by saying this stamp set has a coordinating die set. BUT to be honest I had to make a choice and I opted to not get the dies so that I could get some other things. I know I know the horror ....LOL but hey I can fussy cut okay so I didn't get them. BUT if you are a "gotta have it all" like I would like to be, there is a matching die set to go with these stamps.


I had this vision in my head of the stockings hung in front of a fire place so here's what I did.


I used the Bricks & Mortar 3D embossing folder and embossed the designer series paper from the Night Before Christmas pack. When I did I was still having trouble seeing the brick lines so I used a sponge dauber with some Cherry Cobbler ink and sponged away. This sort of outlined the bricks so they would show up better. Setting that aside I went to work on the stockings.


These stamp all three together on one stamp.



So I stamped them on some Shimmery White cardstock with Momento ink and then colored them in with some Stampin' Blends as desired and cut them out with my paper snips.


I then cut a piece of black cardstock and placed that at the bottom of my dsp layer I just eyeballed it so let go measure it...It's about 3.25 x 3 and then I added a strip of dsp over the top edge of the black to make it look like a hearth. I think it was cut about 3/4 of an inch x 4 inches. (and I belive all I did was flip over the red background paper and that was the design on the other side).


Using stampin dimensionals I adhered the stockings over the black cardstock piece and voila the stockings were hung! The last thing I did was stamp the Believe (yes, I know it's off to the left a little but I went with it anyway) onto a stitched label that I die cut and added a couple rhinestones that I colored with a cherry cobbler stampin blends dark marker before sticking them down. I love that I can color coordinate my gems just by using stampin blends on regular bling. No need to buy red or green or blue gems....just color them. The label was attached with stampin dimensionals as well and it all was added to a card base of Cherry Cobbler.


Oh wait I almost forgot to mention that I used the puff paint on the fur for the stockings. This stuff adds really fun dimension and it's easy to use. Just squeeze a little out and spread it around some with the fine tip and then heat it a heat gun and it puffs right up.


You'll be seeing this done a lot from me. I just got this stuff and I love it!


So there ya have it.....another card done with the Holly Jolly Christmas set.


Thank You so much for stopping in...if you have any questions just shoot me an email and I'll be happy to help. stampinwithcarolread@gmail.com


HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL



 



69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Commenti


bottom of page