top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Flowering Cactus


Hello Everyone and Welcome...

Today I have a look at a fun Product Medley that's in the new 2021 Stampin' Up! Mini Catalog called Flowering Cactus. What's a product medley? Well it's somewhat like a kit or suite of products but it all comes together wrapped in a box much like a kit except there are no instructions LOL Usually when you purchase a kit it has defined instructions on how to guide you through assembling everything together. With a product medley it just has all the stamps, dies, designer series paper and embellishments and you just let your creativity happen. It comes with a lot of supplies. You get 48 sheets of 6 x 6 paper so you can do a lot of projects with it and have plenty to do multiples with for like party invites or such. Or you could be like me and never make the same card twice LOL The potential of these medleys are vast. So if you haven't tried one out before you might want to take a look at them. Now....let's get stamping....


This first card was made using a cut and flip method with the designer series paper. I do this a lot because it allows me to show off both sides of our beautiful double sided papers. I cut a piece of DSP to 4 x 5.25 and cut it at roughly the 2 inch mark. You can split however but with the cards today I went with two inches. I then flipped one piece over to show off the back side and glued them to a card base of 4.25 x 11 scored and folded at 5.5. I then used a piece of ribbon...this one is the Ornate Garden ribbon from the annual catalog, to cover my paper seam. You don't have to do this, but I like to. I then just die cut some of the images from the designer series paper and layered them around my sentiment that I stamped and cut out using the stitched rectangle dies. I added a fun double bow over the seam and added in some of the felt embellishments from the kit. Lot's of dimensionals were used in the making of this card LOL both regular and mini's.



Now this one was my second cut and flip that I did I just put the small piece to the bottom of the card instead of the top like the last one. again the ribbon and the sentiment then added a bow and some embellishments.



With this card I loosely gleaned from one of the catalog samples. I used the stitched nested labels for behind my cactus and using some of the new blending brushes I added some crumb cake and seaside spray ink to give it the desert background effect. Again I cut out the cactus image from the designer series paper and added some of the felt embellishments. There is a little prickly die that I cut out of the base. They did that in the catalog sample and I thought it looked cool so I did it. The sentiment was just stamped and layered over another strip of dsp, I flagged the end with my scissors added some twine from the medley and was done.



This card was just a simple strip of dsp there's a texture die in the set that i cut three times on the right of the dsp layer. I cut out a long cactus from some mint macaron cardstock before layering a couple others over it. Again with the stitched rectangle die for the sentiment lots of dimensionals and some more of the twine finished off this card nicely.

Alright.....I have one more for today, Using the medley made it easy to just crank out some cards. I just made a card base of each of the colors in this pack and created a card from there.


This one...though I admit some may find a bit busy...I sort of do, but it works.


I used a base of Highland Heather cardstock and stamped the little flowers all over it in highland heather ink. I then used strips of the dsp and layered three different designs together in various sizes. I added the sentiment, now let me just say this was almost the card that wasn't but I went with it anyway. I tried to do some light blending on the sentiment oval and it got out of hand. So there's a lot of blending on the sentiment hahahahahaha I just added a layer of cardstock behind it and adhered it down. When in doubt add more embellishments and a bow. LOL I just wanted to show this to prove that I don't always have the best ideas......but I roll with it and move on. Just because I don't like it doesn't mean someone else might.


Well I hope you have enjoyed this look at the Flowering Cactus product medley. You can pick it up in my online store by clicking the link below in the product list. I have included links for the other products I used as well just incase you need to add anything.


Thanks so much for stopping by today. HAPPY STAMPING......CAROL


 


162 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page