top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

The Raven


Hello Everyone, and Welcoome,


Today I have a couple cards I made using THE RAVEN stamp set. This set will be available September 4th in the all new 2019/20 Holiday Catalog from Stampin' Up! Have you seen it yet? Have you browsed through it??




Well for now all I can show you is the cover. If you are a customer of mine you should have already gotten your copy. If you haven't and you would like one then shoot me an email at stampinwithcarolread@gmail.com and I can get one sent out to you. You'll need to be sure to include your address.


Okay back to Today's cards. There's a great set in there called The Raven let's take a look...



I have friends that really like ravens and when I saw this set I knew I needed it.



With this fist simple card all I did was use the branch image and stamped it repeatedly on the card base of gray granite using memento black ink. I then used my aqua painter and a clear block that I dipped in the black ink to make a splatter effect on it as well. I set that aside and grabbed a piece of whisper white cardstock that I cut to about 2.75 x 4.25


On the white I stamped the branch image overlapping it a couple times then adding in the bird image. I finished this layer by stamping the sentiment in Pumpkin Pie ink and then layering a bit of pumpkin pie cardstock behind it with about an 1/8 of an inch border.


I used some of the new Basic Black Scalloped Edge Ribbon on the bottom edge of the pumpkin pie layer. It was adhered with stampin' dimensionals to pop it off the card.



With this second card I stepped it up a little more and added in some die cutting and enamel embellishments.


I started with a base of Pumpkin Pie cardstock and I stamped the branch image in a vertical direction using pumpkin pie ink. I then grabbed a piece of whisper white again cut to about 2.75 x 4.25 and on that I stamped the feather image over and over flipping the direction of it each time. I adhered that to the card base. Again using the scalloped edged ribbon I ran a length of it to the top of the white layer. Next I cut a couple die cuts from the Ornate Frames that are also in this catalog from the Monster Bash Suite. ( I'll have more on that Suite later) but just to point out that all of the Halloween products in this catalog intertwine with each other so well, so if you are like me and HAVE TO have it all they will all coordinate nicely together as well as on their own.


So I cut out a couple frames in white and pumpkin cardstock and I stamped the sentiment on them and layered them together with stampin dimensionals. I then grabbed the Monster Bash Enamel Shapes and added a couple dots and the bird to the sentiment.


Again both of these cards are simple layouts and can easily be reproduced or even built up more if you like, It's just an idea to get you inspired and remind you that Halloween is just around the corner.


Stay tuned because I have some fun treat box ideas coming for sweet gift giving.


Thank You so much for stopping in. Hope your day is going great! Be sure to be on the look out for the new Holiday Catalog. It goes live on September 4th 2019 and I'll have lot's of great ideas coming over the coming days.


 


93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page