top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Strip Layout


Hey Everyone,

Hello and Welcome! I know I know it's been a while but things are continuing to be chaotic around here and I still haven't been able to settle into a routine. Now we have thrown in this whole Virus mess and wow. Here we are!


I have been seeing this strip technique that has been around and I thought I'd give it a try. It at least got me to create something so I was happy about that. Now to explain what I did.


I started by watching a video on Youtube by Kylie Bertucci and you can view it Here.


I then grabbed a base of Blackberry Bliss cardstock cut to 8.5 x 5.5 and scored it at 4.25. For my background layer I used a piece of So Saffron cardstock that I cut to 4 x 5.25.


Next I chose my colors for the strips. I decided on Gorgeous Grape, Highland Heather, Basic Gray and purple posy. Using my paper cutter I cut some random strips out of each color. Note if you do a 1/4 sheet layer of each color you will have enough to do a card for each color. So it's a great technique to bust out multiple cards. Now with everything cut I was ready to start assembling. I just started laying down the strips across my saffron layer until I found a look I liked. Once that was worked out I grabbed some of the liquid multi purpose glue (green glue) and started gluing my strips into place. I let the sides extend over my saffron layer and I left a peek of the saffron between each strip. Once I had them all glued in place I trimmed the excess from the sides.


Now then I took the layer and adhered it to my card base and then added in my sentiments from the A Wish For Everything stamp set. I stamped the HAPPY on some white cardstock and then trimmed it out. I stamped the BIRTHDAY image directly on the layers of the card. Using stampin dimensionals I popped the happy in place.


I have seen several examples where people added 3D flowers to it as well. Lots of possibilities with this fun scrappy background. I wanted a cleaner look so I just went with the sentiment.


If you haven't given this technique a try I would encourage you to do so. It's a great way to use up your scraps.


REMINDER: Sale A Bration is coming to an end soon if you ( March 31st) so if you are still wanting to get any last minute items be sure to get your orders in soon so you don't miss out.


Thank You for stopping in and I hope you are all practicing Social Distancing and staying safe. Hopefully we can get through this thing quickly.


 



219 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page