top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Simple Easel Card


Hello and Welcome,


I have gotten brave and tried a fun fold card. Now in true Carol Read fashion I have kept it simple. Nothing too crazy here. I'm not into complicated folds and more advanced style card building. I like it simple. I started with a piece of Purple Posy cardstock and I cut it to 11 x 4.25 then I scared it at 5.5 like a normal card but I added another score line at 2.75 let's take a look...


You will fold the score lines so you get something that looks like this...

Now this is the base you work from.

I then used a piece of Thick Whisper White cardstock and cut it to 4 x 5.25 and on it I stamped the Birch Background stamp to give it that wood grain look. You'll notice I used my Stamparatus for this step because it makes it so much easier to ink up these big stamps and if I have to stamp it twice to get good coverage then the Stamparatus makes it perfect to line it up again.



Once I had my piece stamped I adhered the white layer to the front of the card. Only putting adhesive on the bottom half of the card front. You don't want to glue down the top half because this is where the card base folds back for the easel effect. So only put adhesive on the bottom half of the card front.


I then grabbed some Magnolia flowers that I had stamped and colored the other day. I'm not a huge fan of coloring for hours....but if I put on a movie or podcast in my studio then I can get a bunch of coloring done at once then just keep the sheet handy for when I'm ready to create cards, I can then just cut them out and add then to the project. See below...


I was practicing my shading and trying to get a nice light look with the Stampin' Blends alcohol markers. I have a tendency to over color my images, and I just wanted to add a touch of color. These images are so nice to be able to do that with.


So using my paper snips I cut out the large flower image that I colored in Purple Posy and the smaller one to match. This smaller one works to keep my easel card standing up. I just cut it out and added some stampin dimensionals to the back of it and placed it on the inside of the card. So now when the card is standing open the small flower props it in place.


To finish off the card I added some striped ribbon and Rhinestones to dress it up. Don't forget to stamp the inside of your card. I placed it nice and high on the inside so it wouldn't show when the card it propped open. But you can put it anywhere you'd like. I have seen them place em more to the bottom so you could see and read it when the card was standing but I wanted mine tucked away more. Your Choice. I used the Timeless Label punch to stamp my sentiment on. All in all I love the way this sweet card turned out.


Here's a view of it closed...

and then again when it's propped open...


Hope this inspires you to give an easel card a try. I know there are more complicated versions out there but again... you know me....I like it simple and quick.


Have a great day everyone and THANK YOU so much for stopping in. If I can help you with anything please send me an email and let me know. I'd be glad to help. I'm going to include a product list below so you can see what I used and if you need it you can easily click on it and it will take you to the product in my online store.


HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL


 


424 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comentários


bottom of page