top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Painted Poppies


Now I know you are probably deep into the the Christmas Holidays and maybe haven't even given a thought yet as to what's on the way in the stamping world....Well let me tell ya, There's some pretty amazing things coming in January. The Best time of the Stampin' Up! year is about to start. That's right.....SALE-A-BRATION will be coming your way starting Jan 3rd, 2020. Okay let me put this into a little perspective for you. Today is let's see....December 16th. So in just 19 days....yes....19 days the new 2020 Mini Catalog and the 2020 Sale A Bration catalog will go live! EEEEEEK! It's so tinsel!!!!! Because I'm a demonstrator I have the chance to pre-order products to give me time to hands on play with them and let me tell you......WOW!


Today's card is made with some of those new products. This flower stamp is from the Painted Poppies stamp set and the sentiment is from the sister Peaceful Moments set. Let me tell ya you are going to love both of these sets. Let's take a closer look at them.



The Painted Poppies set has some great images and can be used to build all sorts of nice arrangements. Yes there are also matching dies for these as well but I haven't gotten them yet. (I had to make cuts somewhere because my order got too big and well I'll pick them up on my next order). Now the sentiments in this Peaceful Moments set are just fabulous. I'm loving the fonts.


Okay, now to the card. All I did with this one is use a piece of Shimmery White card stock (because I watercolored it) and on it I stamped the flower several times. I wanted it to look like a field of poppies. Next I grabbed my Aqua Painter and some Poppy Parade ink refill and I made a little puddle in my ink pad lid and used that to dab color onto the flowers. A little of this goes a long way so it super quick to just dab and color a few flowers at a time. I did the same with the Granny Apple Green for the stems. When I was finished I inked up my Aqua Painter once again with the poppy parade refill and thumped the tip a bit to get that splattered effect.


I then grabbed a card base of Poppy Parade and ran it through the die machine using a new 3D embossing folder coming called Parisian Flourish. I wrapped a bit of Magnolia Lane Ribbon from the Annual Catalog around the spine of the card and tied a bow. I carefully snipped the ends at an angle to make them look sharp. I then added my now dry flower layer to the card front with some stampin dimensionals to make it lift off the page. The sentiment was stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black and the I just trimmed it close before sticking to the card with some more stampin' dimensionals.


I think it took me longer to explain what I did here than it actually took me to do it.

It really was a quick card.


Well that's what I have for you Today. I'm hoping to get some more time to play and show off more of the stamps in these sets. I have almost given up trying to plan my days because they still are not my own LOL. Don't get me wrong I love more than anything that I have my children and grandchildren here with us.....it's just a lot to juggle hahahaha.


Thank You for stopping in and I hope all your Holiday plans are going well. I can say I have managed to get all my shopping and wrapping done. I just need to plan out dinner and we'll be set. Yaaaay.


Wishing you nothing but LOVE and Happy Stamping....CAROL

 


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comentários


bottom of page