top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Nothing's Better Than...


Hello Everyone and Welcome,


Today I have a look at the "Nothing's Better Than" Bundle from the Stampin' Up! Annual Catalog.


This bundle is so fun! I love the way all the wording is so interchangeable and the dies are so perfect. It's just a fun all season set that you will get so much use out of. Trust me...you are going to fall in love with it.



I couldn't wait to get some ink on this set but I've been a little rusty lately and haven't been stamping very much. So to start out I decided to CASE the catalog. I like doing this to get warmed up. It's a nice way to just get your fingers inky and wake up that MoJo. LOL If you look on page 90 of the Annual Catalog you will see a cute sample of a gift card holder. Well I think that's what it is anyway. It looks like it to me LOL But I used that sample and made a full sized card out of it instead. Why? well it had some elements on there that I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have tried on my own. If you look at the word Coffee it was cut out with the die in three different colors and layered on top of each other but slightly pulled to the right. It looks cute and adds a lot of interest but like I said I probably would have never thought to do this myself. I like it! The rest of the card was just a base of Soft Suede and I stamped the small star type image all over it with some soft suede ink. I set that aside and using the Stitched Rectangle Dies I cut a Crumb Cake layer.


On that layer I stamped the wording being careful to place it where I could add in the die-cut elements and the coffee cup. For those I did like I said I cut the coffee word out three times with the die and layered them together using some multipurpose liquid glue. Fine tip glue would have worked as well but it's just what I had handy at the time. I then stamped the coffee cup detailed image in soft suede ink and then stamped the fill in image in Flirty Flamingo ink. Funny thing....I was halfway through fussy cutting the cup out before I was like....Duh there's a die for that. LOL See I told you I was out of practice. Hahahaha just before sticking the cup down with some dimensionals I stamped the steamy swirls to make it look like it was coming out of the cup. I finished by adding a bow.....okay now don't get mad at me but the ribbon is retired ribbon. We do still carry it in white with gold or silver but not in this petal pink shade anymore. I'm still sorting out my stash. I have been behind the times of late but slowly getting back into the grove.

I then glued the layer down to the stamped card base with some more stampin dimensionals. Alright....I got the first warm up card done. Let's move on to something else. I got my creative juices flowing so let's try a sketch this time.....So I break out pinterest and find a sketch I like. I sorted through a bunch so I don't remember who posted the sketch but it's a pretty basic one.



I started with a base of soft suede and I cut some pieces of designer series paper from the "In Good Taste" pack also in the annual catalog. The strips were cut at 1 inch by 3 inches and I just arranged 5 of them in an order that I found pleasing. I love Love Love all the textures in this paper pack. It was fun to put several of them together. once I had the strips glued down I put a strip of Early Espresso cardstock at the top of them. Next I cut a couple Oval pieces, one in white and the other in crumb cake cardstock. I stamped the wording on the white one in soft suede ink and then added the die cut cookies word in early espresso. I layered them together and onto the card with dimensionals. Next I stamped the cookies images onto some scrap white cardstock and cut them out using the die this time LOL They all have the bite taken out fo them but I just tucked that behind the oval layers to make then look whole and leaving one with a bite visible. I finished with a nice embroidered ribbon bow (this time the ribbon is current LOL)

and added some Champaign rhinestones to it. Gotta add that bling....it just livens thing up a bit.



On this last card I started with a base of Thick Whisper White cardstock and added a panel of the "in Good Taste" designer series paper. I again put a strip of Early Espresso cardstock through the middle. Next I die-cut a piece of whisper white using the stitched nested labels die and I then I embossed it with the tasteful textures embossing folder. On to that I die-cut a piece of crumb cake cardstock. I stamped the wording in early espresso ink and added in the word "Chocolate" that I die-cut in early espresso as well.

On a scrap of white I stamped the chocolates in early espresso and soft suede inks and cut them out then using dimensionals layered them on the bottom. I finished with some more Champaign Bling.


So did you see how simply starting out with a simple warm up card can really get those creative juices flowing? I felt pretty good when I got done because I have been struggling creatively lately. I'll pull through this but man has it been a ride.


Okay so that's what i had to share with you Today, I hope this helps to inspire you to just dig in and get some stamping done. I'll leave a product list below in case you need to order some ( or all ) of these great products.


Have an awesome day and HAPPY STAMPING...CAROL

 



78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comentários


bottom of page