top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Happy Birthday Cake


Hello Everyone and Welcome,

I have a little different style post to share. One where I was the student not the demo LOL. I had a chance to work on my Stampin' Blends skills. I was looking around on Youtube the other morning because I was up way too early and couldn't sleep when came across a nice video from Alisa Tilsner where she was giving a tutorial on coloring this lovely cake from the Happy Birthday To You stamp set that's available for Sale-A-Bration this year. I will be the first to wave my hand high in the air about not being very artistic. Coloring and shading and all that escapes my skill level. If you have followed me for any time at all you know I always talk about quick simple fast things like that because I'm not one to color for serenity so to speak. Hahaha seriously....never been my thing. I like two step stamping the most where i can just stamp in one color and then another color and add an embellishment and bam done...! Line art coloring is just not my thing really. So....I'm trying to try a little harder to bring in more artsy type coloring to my work. I have all the water color pencils and stampin' blends and sprinkles all that stuff but I haven't been very good at actually using them the way they should be used.


So I found this video and watched it and really enjoyed the way she presented it and showed how she colored the cake. I took inventory of what supplies she used and knew I had everything to do what she was doing. Spirit animal whatever but she was talking about how she wasn't very artsy either but the way she instructed it hit a chord with me and I was inspired.


So I sat down with my IPAD and my supplies (there was a lot of stopping and rewinding) and did what she did....This card today was the result of just that. Now Hopefully I can build on these skills and become just a little better with my coloring. If you would like to see her video just search Alisa Tilsner on Youtube and I'm sure you'll be able to locate it.


Have a great day and Thank You for coming by. Happy Stamping...Carol


 




83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page