top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Geared Up Garage


Hello and Welcome,


As promised I have some Geared Up Garage cards to share with you. I have been waiting for a while to dive into this set because I wanted to use it for Father's Day cards.


So let's take a look at what I came up with...


With this card I started with a piece of Whisper White cardstock that I cut to about 3.25 x 4 and on it I stamped the grease patch stamp in Gray Granite ink. I layered it with a piece of Real Red cardstock that I trimmed just a 1/8 of an inch larger. I cut the gears out using gray granite cardstock and adhered it down with some multipurpose glue. I cut the steering wheel and the car out of the Designer Series Paper (DSP) that matches this suite called Classic Garage that comes in a 6 x 6 pack. I'll have links to all the products at the bottom of this post. I just added some Stampin' Dimensionals to the backs of them and placed them just below the background line. I then stamped the sentiment in Real Red on whisper white and cut it out with the die. I then placed that on a piece of Basic Black cardstock and trimmed around it to give it that second layer. I added dimensionals again to that and placed it on the card. The base of the card is done in Crushed Curry cardstock. Pretty cool right? I liked how it came out.



With this second card I did a lot of the same things as the first one but I stamped the tool chest on the base layer before adding the gray granite piece that I stamped with the grease patch. I added the car again cut from the DSP and some steering wheels. I added a strip of DSP to the bottom with the road signs printed on it. The sentiment was stamped on whisper white with crushed curry ink and then cut out with the matching die. I cut a second cut with the die but this time out of real red cardstock. The card base is Tranquil Tide.



On this third card I cut and flipped the DSP so you get to see both sides of it. I used a length of black satin ribbon to cover the seam. It's hard to see in the photo. I then cut out the car and the steering wheel. Oh Hey yeah the steering wheels on the DSP fit nicely with the 1 inch and 1.5 inch circle punches BRILLIANT! so it was easy to just punch a bunch out to use for elements. I fussy cut a key out again from the DSP and then die cut the gears in gray granite cardstock. The sentiment was stamped directly on the DSP with black ink.


These cards were all fairly easy to put together. It could be a Beginner stamper card but is more likely a Casual Crafter card.


I was watching TV and just took the time to cut and punch the images I wanted to probably use out of the DSP ahead of time before sitting down to craft. What I liked about doing it this way was I could just take the time to arrange the elements together knowing they would all match no matter what I did. Something to think about if you don't have a lot of time to craft. Doing a bunch of your fussy work ahead of sitting down to create makes it easier to focus more on your creation and not get so caught up in ugh I gotta cut this out and that out ...blah blah blah....I found it to be more productive with my time. Try it out and see what you think.


I'll leave you now with a list the products I used today. These are all available on my online store. Just click the images and it will take you there.


Have a great rest of your day. Thank You for stopping by.

HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page