top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Clear Block with Markers Technique


Hello Everyone and Welcome,


Today I wanted to share with you a fun and easy technique using the clear stamp block and your stampin' write markers.



I'm using The Raven stamp set again but this time I wanted to try out the background effect you get using stampin' write markers scribbled onto a clear block and then spritzed with a stampin spritzer and water. The result is this great water color background that looks kind of foggy and spooky. let me zoom that it a bit for you so you can see it better.


Pretty neat looking right?


So here's what you do, I took a clear block in this case my D block and on it I scribbled half of it with a basic black stampin write marker. Now these markers are great for coloring in your images or even coloring directly on your stamp and then stamping. But for this project I colored directly onto the clear block half way up and then with the pumpkin pie marker I colored the second half. once I got the ink onto the block I used a stampin spritzer filled with water and spritzed it a couple times on my block to get the ink to puddle a bit and move around. I then stamped the block onto a piece of Shimmery White cardstock being sure to hold it there in one spot for a bit. This allows the ink to absorb into the cardstock. Once I lifted the block away i was left with a great background that I could stamp over.


I then used the branch image in The Raven stamp set and stamped it to the bottom area of the stamped background. I then stamped the raven image onto to that making it look like the bird is perched or sitting on the branch.


Next I stamped the "Beware" image using black ink also directly onto the shimmery white cardstock. I trimmed down my piece to frame the images and it came out to about 3 3/4 x 4 inches. With my card base of basic black cardstock I dry embossed the front using the new Stylish Scroll folder also available in the Holiday Catalog.


I then stamped a piece of whisper white cardstock with the "It's Halloween" stamp and cut it out using the ornate frame dies. (all of these products are in the new 2019 Holiday catalog available September 4th). I cut the pumpkin pie layer with one of the matching dies as well. I love the way these dies layer together so nicely.


I arranged everything onto the card front and glued them down using multipurpose liquid glue and stampin dimensionals. Oh and also new in the Holiday Catalog are some awesome black stampin dimensionals just perfect for projects like these where they can blend in more. Make sure you look for them. They are on page 55 in the top left corner of the page.


I finished off the card with a bow of the new Scalloped Edge Ribbon in basic black. I love the way this ribbon ties so nice.


That's what I have for you today. Football has started here and my grandson had his first game today! That's why I'm a little late posting this. We had a great time cheering him on.


Now I will post a product list below so you can see everything I used in this project in case you'd like to recreate it yourself. Tahnk You so much for stopping in. Hope you're Holiday weekend is filled with fun and of course stamping time!


Happy Stamping....CAROL


 


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

Comments


bottom of page