top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

New Catalog Peeks


Hello Everyone and Welcome! My goody box showed up yesterday afternoon and I had a chance to go through it all and even play a little. I was immediately drawn to the "To A Wild Rose " set when they first gave us a look at it. Yes they are a lot of other great sets in the pre order but this one for some reason really stood out to me. It's not a full on Suite of products, just a Bundle of dies and stamps but it just stood out as so pretty to me. I had to play with it first!

So here's what the set and dies look like...I really like that stitched label in there too...I haven't had a chance to play with the other elements yet....that lattice looking piece looks fun. I'll have to try that out later. So I went straight to work and put these guys to ink.....

I had to grab purple....not sure why but it just seemed like a good choice. So I went with Purple Posy ( a new In Color) and Gorgeous Grape. Now this set is a Three Step stamp set, but it's also a distinktive set, meaning it takes three steps to finish the image but it also gives you that more realistic texture to it. If you scroll back up you can see that there are three versions of the flower image. A more solid image with very little detail. Then a more detailed image that adds some definition. Then the outline image that really gives you the details. I started with the solid image and stamped it in Purple Posy. Then I with the second layer I still used the same color just layered it darker. With the third stamp I stamped it in Gorgeous Grape to really bring out that outline and definition. Once I had my images stamped I dipped a clear block into the ink pad and using an aqua painter I splattered the whole thing with some gorgeous grape ink. It filled in the ares between the image and made it look more put together. I stamped the sentiment in gorgeous grape ink and cut it out with the fun stitched label in the bundle that I mentioned earlier. I then just added some ribbon to the back and a couple basic rhinestone jewels to the front and stuck it down with some dimensionals. See below

With the lead card above I just stamped the outline image in black and then using an aqua painter I sloppily water colored it in with gorgeous grape and Pear Pizzazz ink.

With this card I Used the new Rococo Rose....ooooh this is a pretty color. Wow the catalog doesn't do it justice. This is one of those colors that you gotta see in person. ANYWAY I stamped the second or middle image and then the outline and using an aqua painter I smudged up the ink this way it gave just a little pink color to the negative areas of the image. I stamped the leaves in the second layer as well and just left them alone. I like the texture they gave. I then stamped the sentiments in rose and pear to match and added a little ribbon knot. It was all layered on a base of Rococo Rose cardstock.

Again this is going to be one of my favorites to work with. You can do so many different techniques with this set. Besides the three I have mentioned here today you can used stampin blends, watercolor pencils, Heat Embossing, background stamping really any color medium you wanted. I can't wait to explore some more with it. I'm feeling it's going to get a lot of love this year! So there's your sneak peek for today. I'm off to do some Easter Festivities so have a great day and I'll have more new goodies for you soon.

Thanks for stopping in today! HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page