top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Flowering Desert Blue


Hello and Welcome. Today I wanted to share with you a card I made, well I CASED from another awesome stamper. Have you heard of a blog called All Things Stampy? Well this awesome stamper named Helen Read....no relation by the way....showed this fun Flowering Desert card on her blog and I just had to try it out. I would have never thought to use the blues with this stamp set. But wow it sure looks great.

Her color combination was

So I got all my supplies out and did a pretty close CASE of her card. There are a few things different but it's pretty spot on.

You can see her original post HERE

Be sure to check out the other great creations she has made with this set and others. Her site is super inspiring.

So the card base was done in Balmy Blue cardstock and I used a piece of DSP from the Twinkle Twinkle DSP pack in the Annual Catalog. I trimmed it to 4 x5.25 and cantered it a bit on the card base. Using Whisper White card stock I stamped the different elements of this stamp set around in the same order that Helen did because I was a bit unsure of this set in my hands. Once I got started though it went pretty smoothly. I used a sponge dauber to add the balmy blue sun. Ya know that;s a stamping tool that I don't use very often. Not sure why I guess I just don't think to grab them too often. ( another benefit to CASEing a card.....get's you using stuff you don't normally use)! I stamped the sentiment in the Night Of Navy ink and then finished off the front with a tie of Blueberry Bushel grosgrain ribbon. Can you believe it? No dimensionals were used! WHAT???? I always use dimensionals. Hahahaha see out of my comfort zone.

I hope you have enjoyed this look at Helen's Card.....I mean my version of Helen's card. Hahahaha More importantly I hope this inspires you to do something a little different than you normally do. Spread you wings and try something you haven't. Or pull out some tools you haven't used in a while. Change it up a bit and see where it takes you.

Have an awesome weekend ....I'm off to get some quilting practice in for a while. I've made a fun table topper in a tulip design that I want to use as a free motion practice piece. If it comes out well I'll share it with ya. Hahaha

Thank You for stopping by and be sure to get some stamping in this weekend....HAPPY STAMPING...CAROL

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page