top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Swirly Bird Cards


Hello and Welcome,

Today I wanted to share with you a few cards I made using the Swirly Bird stamp set and the Friendly Expressions stamp set. This is a great pairing because the Swirly Bird is one of those sets that doesn't have any sentiments in it and the Friendly Expressions is only a sentiment set.

With this first card I kept it basic with just SIP, (stamps, ink and paper) I took a layer of whisper white cardstock and stamped the images in Highland Heather, Pineapple Punch and Gorgeous Grape. I just did some random stamping and layered the colors. I wanted the look of DSP but left an area to showcase my sentiment. I cut that layer to 4 x 5.25 and layered it onto a card base of Highland Heather cardstock cut to 8.5 x 5.5 and folded at 4.25.

This next card I stepped up a bit. I did the same basic random stamping of the flower and the swirl image using Lovely Lipstick and Flirty Flamingo inks. This was cut to 4.25 x 2.75 and I layered it onto a piece of Lovely Lipstick cardstock trimmed to just a 1/4 inch larger than the white.

I then used a card base of Flirty Flamingo cardstock but I dry embossed the card front with the Swirls & Curls Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. This folder is currently available in the Holiday Catalog but good news.....It's carrying over. So if you haven't had a chance to get it yet, don't worry it will still be available for a while yet. So after I embossed the card front I layered the image pieces onto it using some stampin dimensionals. Now anytime I dry emboss and layer over it I use either stampin dimensionals or the Multipurpose Liquid glue ( or green glue as I call it). They both are super strong adhesives and help those layers to stick well on the bumpy surface of an embossed layer.

On this third card I stamped the kite image in Balmy Blue and Blueberry Bushel inks. I stepped it up even more by not only adding the dry embossing with the Simple Stripes folder (another carry over from the Holiday Catalog), but I cut my sentiment out with the Stitched Shapes Framelits. I polished it off using the Blueberry Bushel grosgrain ribbon available in the Annual Catalog.

My result was a few fun cards for everyday all with a different look and feel. I really enjoy sets that I can get a lot of mileage out of and these both are great for just that! If you scroll back up and look at the Swirly Bird set you can pick out that there's a bird image as well as a nest and eggs. There's several fum swirls both thick and thin that can layer nicely together. There's the kite image like I used today as well as a sail boat image...did you see that in there? There's three pieces for the sail and the nest can be the base of the boat. There a little flag image for the top of the sail. I admit it took me a bit to notice that part. LOL So there are a lot of great ways to use this set and for many occasions as well. Just pair it with a favorite sentiment set and you can go on and on with it.

I was finally able to get my order placed for the new Occasions and Sale A Brations goodies. Yaaaaay! Can't wait for those to arrive and I can play. The Occasions and Sale A Bration both start on January 3rd so get those wish lists ready. Sale A Bration is such a fun time of the year! I mean who doesn't enjoy getting something for free? With the New Occasions catalog and all the fun new products for Valentine's and Spring it's a great time to earn some free products. For every $50 you spend in merchandise you earn a free stamp set or embellishment from the Sale A Bration Brochure. AWESOME! I also take advantage of this time of year to stock up on my supplies like cardstocks and inks or trimmer blades, stampin dimensionals and other adhesives. While they are needful things they aren't always fun to get, I mean fun like stamps fun...so when you get to choose a stamp set for free while purchasing those needful supplies it really makes that order fun!

Keep that in mind while stocking up this spring. There are some really great products coming for Sale A Bration this year. I just know you are going to love them and want to get them. I will have a PDF available for download on my catalogs page of both Brochures starting January 3rd as per Stampin Up! If you would like a hard copy of them and don't already have a Demonstrator just email me your address and I will get them sent out to ya. If you have placed an order with my in the last year then you already have a set on the way to you...so keep checking that mailbox. I know Sale A Bration Brochure has been sent out but I haven't heard of the Occasions showing up yet. But really it should be anytime now.

We still have the End Of Year Clearance going on so if there are some things you are wanting to catch some products at a special discounted price then now's the time to do that. It ends January 2nd. Just check out my online store for those items. I have included a project list below of the items I used for Today's post to make it easy for you.

Have a great day everyone. Thank You so much for stopping in. HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

 

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page