top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Let's Talk About CASEing


First Frost stamp set

Hello and Happy Sunday! I had a chance to stamp some yesterday and wouldn't ya know it, I lost my mojo. What? No..... that can't happen! I decided to pull out a quarterly publication that Stampin' Up! sends their Demonstrators and I CASE'd

( Copy And Share Everything ) a couple of the cards in there and by doing that it got my creative juices flowing and I was able to then create several cards and projects. (not just these) Once I got started creating I forgot I was in a slump and things just started flowing. LOL

The two top cards are an almost exact case from the magazine. Let me explain what I did. The first one is a note card and envelope that is dressed up a bit. I added a strip of Soft Sea Foam card stock to the front of the note card I then cut a circle from the Stitched Shapes framelits out of Whisper White card stock and layered that over the strip. I then stamped the flower image on whisper white using stampin write markers. Yup I just colored in the leaves with the Granny Apple Green marker using the brush tip end. I then went back with the Melon Mambo marker and colored in the flowers. I gave the stamp a little huff of breath and stamped it onto the card stock. I then stamped the rose image in Petal Pink ink and cut them both out with the matching thinlits in this bundle. I stamped the sentiment on a piece of Melon Mambo card stock using VersaMark ink and heat embossed it with white emboss powder. Everything was then layered using stampin dimensionals. I also used a larger stitched shapes circle for the flap of the envelope to add an extra flair.

The next card again was a CASE and it was easy enough to recreate. I used a layer of Soft Sea Foam card stock and cut it to 4 x 5.25 on it I stamped the sprig image using Tranquil Tide ink. I just did a random all over stamping. I then stamped my sentiment also in Tranquil Tide ink on a scrap of whisper white cardstock. I cut it out with the label die that is in the matching framelits. I also cut out the Tranquil Tide layer doing the same thing. I then cut out the sprig die that is also in this set in the TT card stock and using the new Sprig Punch I punched it twice from some Merry Merlot card stock. I added some adhesive to the back of the sentiment, then arranged the sprigs behind and adhered the whole thing down with some stampin dimensionals. That was all layered onto a base of Soft Sea Foam card stock. It's a simple design that doesn't look so simple.

On the last card....I was sitting there with a piece of Soft Sea Foam that I had cut the half circle out of for the note card envelope and thought....Hmmm how can i use this....!?! Light Bulb! I trimmed it down on the sides to layer nicely on a piece of Whisper White that I cut to 4 x 5.25 and in the cut out area I stamped that fun sprig image again but this time in Soft Sea Foam. Then using a scrap of Whisper White card stock I stamped the small rose image twice and cut them out with the thinlits. I glued one down and the second one I adhered with a stampin dimensional. I stamped the sentiment repeatedly in Soft Sea Foam and Tranquil Tide inks down the right side of the card. Again....Simple and Easy!

The point to all this is....when you are stuck for ideas or need to get your Mojo running....It's perfectly acceptable to CASE a card you see on Pinterest or a Blog, a Catalog or wherever you search for inspiration. It's a great way to get you stamping and get those ideas going. Just remember though if you post your creation online anywhere be sure to give proper credit to the artist you got it from. I generally will start out CASEing a card and then end up going off on my own adding my own twist to it. It's just a great way to get you stamping when you get into a slump.

I hope this has helped inspire you or at least help you to know where to look for inspiration, so you can get back to creating. Thank You for stopping in today! Have an Awesome Day....

Happy Stamping....CAROL

 

COMING SOON...

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page