top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Creating Backgrounds with Stamps


Timeless Tidings

Today's card is an example of creating your own background paper for your cards. With this card I used the Timeless Tidings set which is primarily a sentiment set. But it has a few small images in it as well. My goal here was to make a card using just that set. So I started with a base of Shaded Spruce cardstock that I cut to 4.25 x 11 and then scored and folded it at 5.5. I then took a piece of whisper white cardstock and stamped the small flower image in this set repeatedly in black ink and then colored in the images with blender pens in Real Red, Shaded Spruce and Daffodil Delight. I then colored in the off image sections with a light Pool Party blender pen. I finished the card by stamping the sentiment and another small image on some whisper white cardstock and cut them out with the stitched shapes framelits. Now I used the framelits because I had them but if you don't, you can easily just do the same thing but maybe trimming a square with your paper trimmer and layering it. I added some gold thread behind the sentiment block and stuck it all down with some stampin dimensionals.

So practice making your own backgrounds or designer series paper by stamping them. It's doing more with your sets and stretching your creativity. Don't get me wrong I love Designer Series Papers but sometime is fun to build your own. :)

Thank You so much for stopping in. I'll leave you now with a couple pictures of my quilt project I have going on. I mentioned earlier in the week that I would share some photos.

Hope your weekend starts off great! I'm headed to do some more stamping for the evening.

HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

 

I cut 9 inch Half Square Triangles using my Cricut Maker so it made them all uniform. 48 mats later I had 96 perfectly cut triangles. LOL Yes I could have hand cut them but....they were perfect and no wavy lines hahaha. I then just started sewing them two by two one print and one white and ironing them open. After about an hour long discussion with the hubby I decided that I would do a chevron pattern.

I have the whole top put together now with the border on and it's ready to do the sandwich. I just have to find an area large enough to put it all together. I don't usually do them this big so that has been a challenge. I'll have to crawl around on the floor to get it done and well I'm not looking forward to such aerobics. Anyway....It's coming along and I'll share a few more pictures once it's all done and quilted.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page