top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Simple Stamping


Spirited Snowmen stamp set

 Hello and Welcome. Today I would like to talk with you about Simple Stamping. Some of us more seasoned stampers get easily caught up in all the awesome stamps and tools and supplies there are out there for stampers and card makers. We see all the different coloring options and a stamp pads in every color. We see all the sets that come with matching framelits and dies that you need a big shot machine to use. How about the textured embossing folders and the all the ribbons. It can get super overwhelming for someone, maybe like you, who is just starting out in stamping and creating. Well today I want to stop.....take a breath.....and show you that you don't have to have all those awesome supplies and machines to create lovely cards or heartfelt greetings for friends or family members. You just need the basics.

Stamps, Ink and Paper. 

Let's take another look at today's cards... I made all three of these cards using the SIP method....Stamps, Ink and Paper. I did add a couple other items because I want to show you longevity as well as variety. 

To start out I picked a stamp set. Spirited Snowmen is a fun set for winter greetings it's versatile and more importantly it's easy to add color to. 

 I started with a piece of Whisper White cardstock and using a Tuxedo Black Momento ink pad, a set of watercolor pencils with a blender pen I was able to stamp my image and color it in. We all can easily color right? With the watercolor pencils you can get a lot of variation and you don't need a lot of different colored ink pads. Let's face it,  when you just are starting out getting all those pads in the colors you want gets kind of spendy. The pencils lets you have 12 different colors for just a single price. Add in a blender pen or an aqua painter and you can get a completely different look with still the same 12 pencils. 

So I've stamped my image and colored it in with the coloring pencils . Now all I need to do is add it to a card base or note card. 

 Now all I did here was make a standard card base of cardstock cut to 4.25 x 11 and scored it and folded it at 5.5 inches. I used a few different colors to show you the variety but you can easily just get a single color pack of card stock of your choice or you can also just get a set of pre-made note cards for even easier assembly. You won't have to cut the card bases yourself. Now I will say that for me and any card I make a pack of stampin dimensionals is a must. What are those....? Well they are double sided sticky pieces of foam that when used on the back of your stamped images makes them pop off the page and gives dimension to an otherwise flat card. Trust me....you will want them. So I have my card bases cut and folded or my note cards if you prefer folded in half and now I'm just going to put a few of those sticky little dimensionals on the back of my stamped snowmen and place them wherever you want on your card bases. As you can see the red one i placed to the left of the center. The white one I placed in the center but more towards the top of the card. But with the blue one....You can see that I created a background effect by just taking my sentiment that's in this set and using the black ink pad I stamped it all over the card base. by doing that I gave it a different look from the others. I put a piece of scrap computer paper behind the card base when I stamped so I could go off the sides to give it a random look. Neat Right? So If you are just starting out and want to create a several designs with just a few products this is a great place to start. Don't forget the envelopes though. LOL once you get your fun cards made you are probably going to want to get some envelopes to put your cards in for giving.  

Below I have a list of all the items I used and options of colors of card stocks and pencil assortments. If you are needing any of these items you can just click on them and it will take you to my online store. REMEMBER  Stamps Ink and Paper 

and you have what you need to get started creating out of the box. We do have a couple kit options if you'd like to take all the thought out of it and just get straight to creating. I'll post some of them below the product list as well. Check them out. They are nice because in most cases they have everything you need in the box.  Just choose the stamp set your ink colors and matching kit. If you have any questions at all be sure to send me an email and I'll get right back to you with answers. 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page