top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Double Embossing Technique

Hey Guys....I'm back from VaCa and I'm in my own home, on my own computer...LOL Man it is so fun to go but coming home is pretty nice too.

Today is a Broke Stamper's Unite Challenge day. So I'm going to start off with this weeks challenge. It's a technique week and we chose to do the Double Embossing Technique. What is that??? Well like I mentioned in my last post we now have the new Embossing Mats available, and by using those combined with heat embossing you get this double embossed effect. Now wait, how do you combine these two? Well you basically Emboss your cardstock like I did here with the Blackberry Bliss but before placing your die on the cardstock you ink it up with Versamark ink then run it through the big shot using the embossing sandwich you would normally use. The result is you now have embossing ink in all the details of the die cut. I then just sprinkled the Copper embossing powder over the cardstock and heat it to melt. Let's look closer at it...

Now you are probably thinking....wait what? Well after I embossed it with the die that had Versamark on it (remember it's a cut die) and then heat embossed it with the Copper embossing powder.....I took it a step further and this time instead of just embossing it with the mats I positioned the die cut over the embossed image like you normally would and cut it. Alright so I didn't stick with just the Double Embossing technique. I added a step.

So once I had my Blackberry Bliss double embossed and cut frame loaded with stampin dimensionals on the back I looped some Gold Thread around the back and then I added that to my base of Blackberry Bliss that I layered with a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock that was embossed with the Swirls and Curls embossing folder. I then cut a label from this same Stitched All Around Bundle and stamped it with the sentiment in Blackberry Bliss ink.

I love all the detail that this added to this card. It's even more pretty in person.

I hope I was able to explain this enough for you to catch what I was saying. I still feel a bit hung over from my trip.....lol and I didn't even drink hahahaha. I did manage to tear something in my foot and have been hobbling around on it for about 5 days now. UGH! I need a vacation from my vacation. LOL

I never did get very many pictures posted to Instagram like I had hoped but I'll do a post tomorrow sharing some and I will probably get some posted to my Facebook Page later today. But for now I'll invite you to check out Terri's Blog HERE and Stace's Blog HERE so you can see what they came up with for this week.

Have a great day......Thanks for stopping in. HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page