top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Watercolor Thank You


Falling For Leaves

Hello and Welcome,

Hope your Sunday is going great! Today I wanted to share with you a fun card i made using watercolor paper and watercolor pencils.

I don't do a lot of water coloring with watercolor paper so this is a bit different for me. I usually cheat and just use our whisper white paper and go fast with little water. BUT I have been trying to challenge myself to branch out with my supplies and techniques. I seem to get into my safety zone and stay there.....which is silly because I have all these fun things to use and still they just sit there, while I use the same three supplies over and over. Crazy right? Please tell me I'm not the only one! So my small challenge to myself was to 1) use watercolor paper and 2) use my watercolor pencils.

So here is what i did...

I cut my watercolor paper down to 4 x 5.25 and then using the watercolor pencils I scribbled blocks of different colors along the right side of the paper. Then using an aqua painter filled with water I just brushed it over the color blocks to spread the color and blend away the pencil strokes. This is a really easy way to use them and anyone can do it. Yes....that means you too! Then I just set it aside to dry. Once it was dry I cut a leaf from the Detailed Leaves framelits in some Crushed Curry cardstock. When I was finished cleaning it up and poking out all the stragglers, I used some liquid multipurpose glue that I brushed on the back of the leaf and stuck it down. I only did the center of the leaf just enough to keep it stuck down because I wanted the edges of the leaf to curl up like in the picture. I wanted the look that it just landed there off the tree. LOL I finished up by just stamping the sentiment in Shaded Spruce ink. I used stampin' dimensionals on the back of this layer to adhere it to my card base of Thick Whisper White cardstock.

I think it came out pretty nice, what do you think? The point here was not to be some great artistic watercolor artist....I'm far from that...LOL but just to give a soft fall rainbow of color. Could I do better? Probably, but I'm happy with it. I accomplished the look I wanted and it's pretty!

So even if you aren't much into water coloring....give it a try on some backgrounds. I think you may surprise yourself. Keep it simple and know you aren't likely to have a masterpiece the first time out but at least try it. You never know you might just like it.

Thank You so much for stopping in ..... I have enjoyed sharing this project with you. If you aren't subscribed to my blog you may want to just take a moment and fill in the small form above and you will get an email snippet of my posts each time there's a new one. That way you won't miss any. You can also follow me on Pinterest or Instagram as well there are little buttons at the bottom to follow me. Or search stampinwithcarolread and I should come up.

So I'm headed to New Jersey and New York in a couple days. ( Don't worry I have planned some fun card shares while I'm gone). I'll be meeting up with Family and exploring NYC so I'll probably add a few pics from my adventures to my Instagram feed so if you are interested then you may want to check me out there.

Have a great rest of your day! HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page