top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Dandelion Wishes


Dandelion Wishes stamp set

Hey Everyone....Hello and guess what? It's Finally Friday!!! You made it!

Today I wanted to share with you a card I made using the Dandelion Wishes stamp set and a Monochromatic theme. This technique isn't one I use to much, except maybe if we do it as a BSU challenge or sometimes for swaps. I don't know....it's a great technique and a great way to create with minimal supplies. I did use this a lot when I was just starting to build my ink library.

In case you aren't familiar with what monochromatic is in card making, without getting all technical on you, it's where you basically use one color and maybe a neutral like white, or black. Yes Gray Granite is a neutral but work with me here a little hahahahaha. On this card my white is my neutral. :)

So if you haven't tried a monochromatic type of card then just pick a single color and a neutral and create.

Again, what I used here was a Gray Granite and Whisper White. I made my base of Gray Granite cardstock and on it I stamped the floating wishes (that's what I call them anyway), image in gray granite ink across the front of the card keeping in mind that I was planning the circle cut out to be placed over it. I didn't want to do my whole background in it, I just wanted enough to make it look like there were stragglers blowing in the breeze. I then stamped my dandelion image on a piece of whisper white card stock and cut it out using the Stitched Shapes framelits. ( side note....if you don't have the framelits you could easily just use your paper trimmer and just trim a square around the sentiment and make a layer of gray just about an 1/8 inch bigger). But...if you have the framelits you might as well use them right? I cut my gray layer using the Layering Circles scallop layer. Again if you have it great, but you can always just cut your own. Don't let the lack of special dies stop you from creating.

I then stamped my sentiment in GG at the bottom right of the card front. For an added bit of sparkle i sprayed the whole thing with some shimmer paint in a spritzer bottle with some rubbing alcohol. Just a few spritz go a long way! Yes you can use water but the alcohol dries faster and doesn't sting! .....(you know like when you use it on your owies) Oh but I have digressed. Hahahahaha I'm rambling...ok I'll wrap this up!

Let me zoom that it so you can see the sparkle.

I finished with a small knot bow that I tied and then using a half of a stampin dimensional stuck it to the top left. I like using those dimensionals for this purpose because they really stick you ribbon on there so it doesn't fall off.

I love that shimmer paint, it makes any cardstock into glimmer paper. Even on just some plain white or vanilla cardstock and Christmas is coming and that's when everything sparkles. Do I have ya thinking about it yet? LOL

So there ya have it....I hope you have enjoyed this look at today's card. I also hope I have helped to give you some ideas and if you haven't tried a monochromatic card before then give it a shot. It's super easy and yes.....you can do it! Try It!

Have a great day everyone. Hope your weekend is awesome....mine will be spent getting ready to go on my trip next week. EEEEEK So excited! Thank You for stopping in. HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL

 

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page