top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Waterfront paired with Buffalo Check


Waterfront Stampin Up!

Hello and Welcome....I was stampin last night and got the idea to pair the Waterfront stamp set with the new Buffalo Check background stamp. Wow.....This takes me back to my Pacific Northwest Days.

Doesn't this just scream Hunting....Camping....Logging....Nature Hikes to you? Well it does me. hahaha I grew up out there so it feels like Home.

What I did here was pretty simple and you can easily recreate it. I started with a card base of Shaded Spruce. I cut it to 5.5 x 8.5 and scored it at 4.25 I then took a piece of Real Red cardstock and trimmed it to 4.25 x 5.5 then using my stamparatus I stamped the buffalo check stamp in black ink onto the red. I trimmed it to 4 x 5.25, glued it down to the card base and set it aside. I then grabbed a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock that I cut to 4.25 x 2.75 and on that I began building my mountain scene using the Waterfront stamp set. It's going to take me way longer to explain what I did than what it actually took me to stamp this. so don't let all the steps scare ya.....!

The mountains were stamped in Early Espresso ink I then did the shoreline in Crushed Curry. I then stamped the trees using Shaded Spruce ink and created depth by stamping full strength then stamping it again before reinking my stamp. I was careful to leave the area in the center open. The ground under the trees was stamped in Crumb Cake over lapping it a few times. Now....here's a fun tidbit, the ground the water and the sky were all stamped with the same stamp. I just changed up the colors. Blue for the water...stamped off for the sky. the ground as well with both full strength and stamped off to give it variation. I cannot stress enough how easy this set is to layer and build a scene with. It's super forgiving so you don't have to be super precise. This is definitely a set that will surprise you. I don't use it nearly enough. I then took that piece and layered it on the card front.

So with my scene set I stamped the sentiment from uhh....hmmm.....oh the Love What You Do stamp set. I thought it was a more fitting sentiment for my needs. I stamped it in real red ink on a scrap of Very Vanilla cardstock and cut it out with the layering circle framelits. Same with the basic black layer behind it. Those two were adhered together and using stampin dimensionals adhered it to the card front. As an after thought I added the burlap ribbon across the top of the scene. In hindsight I may have done a strip across the bottom of the scene but I had already stuck down my sentiment. OOpsie....oh well we'll just roll with it. LOL

There ya have it.....I love the way the background fits so nicely with the scene. Makes me all warm and cozy inside. LOL

Hope you have enjoyed today's offering....You can see a list of all the products I used below. If you need anything just click on the picture if the item and it will take you to it in my store.

Thank You so much for stopping by....be sure to give this card idea a try and please leave a comment and tell me what you think of it. Have a great weekend........HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page