top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Sheltering Tree Warm My Heart


Sheltering Tree Stamp Set

Hey guys....Today I pulled out a set that hadn't seen ink in a while. Sheltering Tree. I wanted to experiment with some of the Watercolor Pencils and see what was the best results when it came to our white cardstocks. I'm a lazy stamper and usually just grab for some Whisper White each time I stamp even though I have all the others. I started out first just playing with some background options so I lightly scribbled the watercolor pencil across the cardstocks. I have labeled below which one I used in each case. I just Scribbled some Balmy Blue and Granny Apple Green pencil and then wiped over it using an Aqua Painter. What I didn't like about my result, was that you could still see the stroke lines of the pencils and I used a light hand. Now the one with the Watercolor Paper seemed to get closest to the affect I was after but still not what I was looking for. Hmmm I never really was very good at Art Class.

Now I' not saying that these examples aren't acceptable, it's just that it wasn't coming out the way I wanted it. So since I wasn't liking the pencil lines.....I decided to go strait to the pencil with the Aqua Painter instead of coloring it on like I do with a marker. Like this....

I just dabbed my wet Aqua Painter tip onto my pencil tip and with the Aqua Painter I colored my background on Shimmer Cardstock Let's look at it closer...

This was definitely the look I was going for. No pencil marks or streaks. Just a fun wash of color. I like it too because it's way more subtle than using the ink pads and an aqua painter. I admit that that has always been my go to way of water coloring. Again I am in no way an Art instructor. I think I barely made it through art class...hahaha but I just thought I would share my experience with you in case you are like me and have never really got the whole water coloring with pencils thing. Most importantly you need to do what makes you happy. Maybe you are way better at it than I am or maybe you have never even given it a try. I just wanted to share my little experiment with this technique. I recently got in the new assortment of watercolor pencils and the fun new colors that Stampin' Up! has added for us and I realized that I haven't done much with the first assortment.

So I set out to make a point of using them....um more and trying out different techniques with them. LOL I'll continue my research but just wanted to share this example.

Have a great day...Thank You so much for stopping in......HAPPY STAMPING...CAROL

Oh and if you need any stampin goodies please visit my online store. You guys are what makes it possible for me to support my love of stamping. Thank You for that!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page