top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Fabulous Flamingo Lip Balm Thank You


Hey Guys, The week has started and I came up with a fun Monday project. I was in our Local HEB store and they had these cute lip balms in the shape of a nice refreshing drink. They are made by Lip Smackers so I'm sure they can be found in other stores as well. Yup I need to make a cover for it. First thing that came to mind was the Coffee Cups framelits and how perfectly they would work to make a great Thank You gift out of these fun balms. So I got some supplies together...

I used the Fabulous Flamingo set for the stamping

Coffee Cups/Coffee Cafe set for the cut out and the straw

Momento Tuxedo Black ink for the outline of the Flamingo

I colored the Flamingo in with Stampin' Blends Flirty Flamingo Combo and some Calypso Coral dark.

The sentiment was stamped in Bermuda Bay and the leaves in Granny Apple Green.

I also used the Layering Circles Framelits and the Stitched Shapes Framelits.

I stamped the background using Grapefruit Grove ink On Grapefruit Grove cardstock.

There's a bit of Grapefruit Grove Ribbon used as well.

Now to explain how I made the cover...

Using a card base sized piece of Grapefruit Grove cut to 4.25 x 11 I scored it at 5.5. I then figured out the center area by just placing my unopened lip balm package on it once i had a general idea of where I wanted it I used the Cup framelit to make a cut out in both the front and the back of the cardstock. You can cut both making one pass. I then eyeballed the straw area and made two small cuts on either side of the straw on the balm package to get the angle right and then using the straw from the framelit set I cut the top end just enough to accommodate the straw on the lip balm. I then laid out the card stock and stamped around the whole thing...front and back with the leaf image from the Flamingo set.

Once that was done i put the lip balm inside the grapefruit grove and used some adhesive to close it at the top corners. You'll want kind of a strong adhesive for this. I used the old Fast Fuse because it's what I had on hand still trying to use up my supply, but you could use tear n tape as well. Just so it looks something like this and card stays closed.

see how the cardstock just sandwiches the lip balm in place?

I then stamped the flamingo and colored it in. I had to fussy cut it out by hand but it only took a minute to do. The leaves were stamped in Granny Apple Green ink and also fussy cut. I glued them in place with some Stampin' Dimensionals. The sentiment was just stamped in Bermuda Bay ink and cut out with the Stitched Framelits and then I cut a piece of Bermuda Bay cardstock with the layering scallop circle to make a nice layer. I added some adhesive to the back of the sentiment and zig zagged some Grapefruit Grove ribbon behind it.

So there you have it....a cute little Thank You hand out using a fun Lip Balm product all dressed up!

Hope you have enjoyed this fun little project. If you are in need of any of these stamping supplies you can find them by clicking on the product names in bold above or just shop my online store here.

I found that these are also available on Amazon as well here's the link I found

Ok well today is finally the day they we get the truck fixed so it's off to the car shop for me. UGH I certainly hope it doesn't take them too long. Wish me luck! Would be nice to get this done and have one less thing to worry about.

Thank You for stopping in....HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page