top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Dragonfly Dreams Friend Card


Dragonfly Dreams stamp set

Hello Everyone,

Monday has arrived yet again. Hope you had an awesome weekend. I was working on and finishing up another fun quilt I made using my New Cricut Maker machine. I'll go more into that in a bit, but first let's talk about this great card and color combination. Today's card features the Dragonfly Dreams stamp set. This set is an oldie but goody. Paired with the Detailed Dragonfly thinlits I love the dimension you can create with the wings. Let explain what I did here...

I started with a base of Granny Apple Green that I cut to 8.5 x 5.5 and scored it at 4.25. I then grabbed a bit of Whisper White cardstock and using my Stamparatus I stamped the outline of the dragonfly in Momento Black ink. I then positioned the wing background layer on the Stamparatus plate and I inked it up with the Granny Apple Green and then dabbed the edges using Blueberry Bushel ink before I stamped it onto my cardstock. This gave it a nice variation in color on the wings. I then stamped the body background in Granny Apple Green as well as stamping the dot's at the bottom. The sentiment was stamped in Blueberry Bushel ink. I then grabbed the Detailed Dragonfly thinlits and cut the matching Dragonfly image out of Vellum cardstock. Using the fine tip liquid glue I glued that to the center of my stamped dragonfly leaving the wings to lift up off the page. With the stamping done I layered the Whisper White onto a piece of Pinapple Punch cardstock to just provide a whisper of a border layer. I then adhered that to my base with a few Stampin' Dimensionals and added some of the Blueberry Bushel Grosgrain Ribbon across the bottom of the card again using the fine tip glue pen. I didn't do it but another fun element to add would be some Wink Of Stella to the vellum wings to make them sparkle and give them an iridescent look.

If you haven't added the Dragonfly Dreams stamp set to your stash you may want to consider it. It's a great set that comes with several sentiments but easily can be paired with even more sentiments to make it for any occasion. Think about it. You can get all these products mentioned above in my online store here. You just need to sign in and start shopping. The search bar on the left makes it easy to find what products you want just by typing in the name and hitting enter. It will also show you other fun suggestions for products as well so look for that. Shopping made easy right from home. Check it out.

Now let me take a moment and show you what I was doing most of last week. I did my prep work during the week and then planned to finish it up on Saturday and Sunday.

Ready???

I mentioned in the beginning of this post that I made a quilt using my new Cricut Maker machine. I cut out some 8 inch flowers out of fabric on my machine and then incorporated them into my quilt.

oh oh oh....there's my fun new machine in the background. This cut them out so beautifully 30 flowers and centers in about 90 min. I would have never been able to cut them out by hand as fast or as flawless as this machine did. Made the project super easy! The flowers were layered onto a 10 inch background block and sewed down. I just did a straight outline stitch to attach them. 30 blocks total.

Whew okay once they were all cut out and sewn down I sewed the blocks together to make my top, the sandwhiched it with the batting and backing fabric. Now for the scary part.....I had to quilt it. I've been trying to teach myself how to free motion quilt on my home machine. It gets kind of tricky but I managed to make it work. I still need a lot of practice but all in all I was liking how it was coming out and it saves me from having to send them off to be quilted professionally.

So this took me about 3 hours total to quilt. I did a little on Saturday and finished it up on Sunday. then bound it and i was finished. But wait....I did drag it out into the sun and snap a few shots. much better lighting LOL

Now as much as I LOVE the front.....I'm really more excited how the back came out. The flower design really came through on the back!

Okay....well today Hubby is off work so we are going to run some errands and then go check out the new Jurassic World Movie. EEEEEEK I'm so excited! Thank You so much for stopping in and letting me share with you my adventures in Material as well as stamps. Have a great day everyone and HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page