top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge


Varied Vases Swipe Technique

Hey guys....I'm Baaaaaack! I'm sorry I haven't had a blog post in a few days but well I decided to take the weekend off and then things went kind of crazy from there. I was clearing out retired sets from catalogs past and then i posted a bunch to a Buy/ Sell/ Trade group and all my plans went out the window. I had never done such a thing before and was blessed with a huge response. I had no idea what was about to happen. LOL I spent two day's weighing and packaging and mailing.....hahahaha I can say though that I now know what to do and how to do it when it comes to destashing the stash. Whew...! I still have more to do but I'm going to give it a bit before i jump in that pool again LOL

So today is Wednesday....how'd that happen???? It's Broke Stampers Unite Challenge day! Woooo Hoooooo! This week we are focusing on a technique. Specifically a technique called stamp swiping. Um....what? Yeah that was my response but when I looked it up I found that it wasn't at all what I thought it was. So I watched a video of a girl showing the technique and she had sort of a funny vibe to her story so I'll post a link to her video so you can check it out if you want to. https://youtu.be/yPWuxKmoE_0

Ok so now that I have an idea of what swiping is....I fished through my stash trying to find a set that would work. I came up with Varied Vases. You need a more solid style stamp to do this technique. Now instead of tapping your stamp in the ink pad....you are basically going to swipe the stamp across the ink pad leaving swipe marks or streaks instead of a solid effect. I will confess that i could definitely use more practice at this but the first vase I think was my best. see how there's a horizontal pattern to it? now my third vase was a bit of an oops because if you swipe too deep into our ink pads the ink will pool. (hence the puddle and drops of ink. I kind of liked the look so i stayed with it. again....you may want to watch the video before trying it yourself. My card base is a bit of Mango Melody and i embossed it with the Layering Leaves Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Once I was done stamping I trimmed and layered my Whisper White piece on a layer of Melon Mambo. then using some Stampin' Dimensioanls I layered it to the front of the card base.

Color palette is as follows...

Mango Melody

Melon Mambo

Daffodil Delight

Pumpkin Pie

and Momento Tuxedo Black

Now head on over to Terri's Blog Here to see what she came up with for this technique. If you'd like to follow along with our weekly challenges and maybe even participate yourself then head on over to our FaceBook page here and join in.

Thank You so much for stopping in today! Hope you have a great second half to your week.

Happy Stamping.....CAROL

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page