top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Broke Stampers Unite Challenge 061318


Graceful Garden Kindness

Hello everyone and Welcome to today's Broke Stampers Unite Color Challenge. That's right this week is our color challenge week and the colors chosen are Blackberry Bliss, Rich Razzleberry, Old Olive, Daffodil Delight and Crumb Cake. WOW great combo choice Stace!

This combo screams Victorian vintage to me, so I knew right away I wanted to use this Graceful Garden stamp set. The rest well it was just a let's see where it falls type of card. So I gathered up some items and went for it. Here's a picture of what was used.

Now let's talk about how I got there. I started with a layer of Whisper White and I cut it down to 4 x 5.25 then I grabbed the background texture style stamp in this set and stamped it a couple times in Daffodil Delight ink. I then came in with the Old Olive and the single leaf stamp and stamped around the outer edge of the cardstock. Eh....looks good but i really wanted a filled in look on the background....kind of a DSP feel. so I just kept stamping....a few more leaves.....the background stamp again in Blackberry Bliss....Uh UH OH maybe too much.....hmmm. I just roll with it LOL

I set that aside still not sure if I was going to have to start over but I moved on. I then grabbed a piece of Whisper White that was cut to 2.75 x 4.25 and on it I stamped the rose using Momento black ink. I colored it in using the Stampin Blends in Rich Razzleberry and Old Olive. Looked good but seemed a bit stark to me so I stamped the splatter image from Waterfront stamp set in Crumb Cake a few times around the flower. Much Better.....LOL

I then stamped the sentiment from the Waterfront stamp set in Blackberry Bliss on the bottom right corner. I'm liking this layer pretty well so i grabbed some Blackberry Bliss cardstock and cut it just an 1/8 of an inch larger than my rose layer. It gives it just a hint of color behind that white.

Now back to the base layer....am I going to stay with it or should I recreate that layer? Well once I laid the rose image layer over it I was hooked. Yep....I like that. Sweet no starting over. LOL I layered that on a base of Crumb Cake cardstock. I then grabbed some of the Daffodil Delight stitched ribbon and ran a length of it across the card base. Then using some stampin dimensionals I adhered the rose to the card base. DONE!

I love the way it came out. So Pretty!

Now here's the time where you head on over to Terri's Blog HERE to see what she came up with for this week. Stace is usually playing along with us but this month is her super busy time of the year at work so she is on a sabbatical from stamping right now. Hopefully she can make it back with us soon.

So I hope you have enjoyed this weeks challenge. Give it a try for yourself and share it with us on our FACEBOOK PAGE here. We'd love to see it.

Thank You for stopping in and HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page