top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Just Relax


Waterfront Relax card

Hey guys.....So who wouldn't want to be here on a beautiful island surrounded by beautiful blue ocean? I certainly know that I would love that sort of getaway. But sadly I'm stuck here just dreaming of it....for now anyway.

I pulled out the Waterfront stamp set yesterday and played with it a bit. I had been sitting here trying to come up with another fun color combination and was drawn to Coastal Cabana, Soft Sea Foam, Flirty Flamingo and Gray Granite. Light-bulb....Beach scene. So of course I grabbed Waterfront.

I started with a base of Gray Granite. I then took a layer of Whisper White and cut it to 4 x 5.25. I stamped the water in Coastal Cabana ink and then did the sand or land image in Gray Granite. Using the Stamparatus i stamped the palm tree trunks in Gray Granite and the palms themselves in Soft Sea Foam, a couple times. Why? well I wanted to get a good darkest possible image of the Soft Sea Foam and by using the Stamparatus and being able to stamp and re stamp and stamp again all in the same spot I was able to get those as dark as I could. That Soft Sea Foam color is like it says....soft. I wanted it to stand out a little more. I then stamped the cabanas in flirty flamingo coastal cabana and soft sea foam. The sentiment comes from using the Make A Difference stamp set. This set is fun because you can make whatever sentiment you like as well as any personalized name you may want. I'll include a picture of it below. . So once I had my scene stamped and set I Used some Gray Granite cardstock and the Layering Squares framelits to create my frame. Now these framelits are really a great addition to your stamping supplies. I don't know why I held off so long telling myself I didn't need these. Love them....!

141708 Layering Squares Framelits $30 for 19 dies.

I picked up the Layering Circles as well but still need to budget in the Layering Ovals. Then ...get this .....they all coordinate so well with the Stitched Shapes framelits that I have used so much. What was I thinking waiting so long? These are staples to have in your stash.

I finished off the card with some Bermuda Bay ribbon just tied in a simple bow around the whisper white. I layered the whole thing onto the gray card base and I have a tropical getaway reminder.

Here's the Make A Stamp Set

Alright.....Quilt update:

I manages to get the top completed and I got my sandwhich of layers all made and today I will start actually quilting it together. Yaaaaay I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. Here's a sneak peak of the baby quilt

Pinwheels......! Hahaha this is my third shot at a pinwheel design. Most of my points match up pretty well but there are some creative points involved as well. I'm still learning and well nobody's perfect right? :)

So that is my card share and an update on my current quilt project. Hope you have enjoyed this little look into my crafting head.

Thank You so much for stopping in and have an awesome day......HAPPY STAMPING....CAROL

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page