top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

You're The Best Card


Label Me Pretty stamp set

Hey guys...Have you had a chance to look through the new Annual Catalog? So yes is a tool to check out all the new products and have all your order numbers in one place.....hahahaha but the sample ideas they give us in there are such a great source of inspiration. What I have noticed is that this years trend seems to be in layering. . Not just layering cardstock panels either but layering tags and cut outs and dsp ribbons and trims. Just layering things up. Walk back through the catalog and look at the samples and keep that in mind. You'll notice it and see what I'm talking about. Now this is a whole new challenge for me because I have never built my cards that way. BUT I LIKE IT.....so I need to retrain my brain when it comes to this new trend. So over the coming days I'm going to be trying to get the layering thing down. I started with this card (it's my first try at it so be nice) lol let me try to explain what I did.

I started with my card base of So Saffron and on it I stamped a bit of all over imaging. I actually used one of the tag images from the Label Me Pretty stamp set, the one that has the flower bunch on either side of the tag, anyway i just stamped it all over the card front. I then used the Garden Trellis embossing folder to add texture to it. Eh I pretty much lost my background image instead of adding to it so I need to work on this step I think. maybe some texture that wasn't so busy. I'm not sure....like I said I'm learning this new way of layering. LOL I then snipped out a section of the Delightfully Detailed Laser cut DSP to give me those fun flower images on this card. My plan was to keep them just all white and have them floating around in the background......but the more I looked at then the more they were begging for some Stampin' Blends action LOL So I laid them on a srap piece of cardstock and colored them with the blends. Light Calypso Coral, Light Daffodil Delight and Light Old Olive. I then stamped the tag image with the empty center in Grapefruit Grove on Grapefruit Grove cardstock, then punched it out using the matching Pretty Label Punch. I stamped the center sentiment in Grapefruit Grove on a scrap of Whisper White and punched it out with a 1.25 circle punch. Before I layerd it down with some stampin dimensionals I zig zagged some linen thread to the back of it. Next I wrapped a bow of Grapefruit Grove ribbon around my card base and the added my sentiment layer. Is it perfect? Um NO! but it is my first go at it so I'll keep trying and see if I can master this technique of Layering...LOL I ove that about this craft....there's always another card to make so plenty of opportunity to practice.

Hope this inspires you to look harder at the catalog and notice all those samples and know you can always CASE projects right out of there to get those creative juices flowing. When I was starting out I would do just that...I would get all the things that they had on the card and try my best to recreate the whole thing. It helped me to get the feel of how they built the card and got me used to using products I might have not ever used.

All these products are available now in my online store here. You can just put the product names into the search engine on my store and it will pop up the items and all the info. It's a great way to find what you are wanting without having to have those item numbers.

Well that's my card share for today. I'm headed out to do errands and plan to be back in the office at 4pm today to get some more samples made. Have a great day and HAPPY STAMPING.....CAROL

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page