top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Let's talk about Designer Series Paper


Garden Impressions DSP

Hey Guys....

Today's card shows a fun use of Designer Series Paper. By now you may have figured out that I like Simple Quick cards....I will occasionally dive into a more involved style card but for the most part I like to keep it easy and simple and most of all quick. Cards that don't intimidate. Cards that anyone can easily recreate or draw inspiration from. keep in mind while drawing that inspiration you can always step it up a bit too. So think of that as you look through my gallery of samples and things. Though my style may be clean quick and simple yours may be to add more detail, and that's great. But most importantly....stamp.....That's the idea behind sharing a card or idea everyday. I'm here to inspire and show you how simple making your own projects can be.

This card started with a base of Thick Whisper White cardstock. I layered a piece of Designer Series Paper from the new Garden Impressions pack. I cut the paper to 5.25 x 2 inches and adhered it down with some snail. I then took a piece of this Night of Navy corduroy ribbon that is set to retire today by the way and adhered it to the edge of the dsp. I then used the largest oval from the stitched oval framelits and cut a piece of whisper white. On that I stamped my sentiment from the All Things Thanks stamp set in Calypso Coral and using a Calypso Coral dark stampin blends marker I colored two rhinestone jewels to match my project then placed them at the top and bottom of the oval.

A very simple five minute card. This is where you just let the DSP do it's job and just let it shine. So with a pack of Designer Series Paper, a couple matching ink colors and a sentiment stamp set you can go a long way with making your own cards to share with your loved ones. I know the catalogs can be over whelming and it can be hard to know where to start but just keep in mind the basics of what you need.

Stamps....I look for ones that I can get a lot of mileage out of like one that has several different sentiments to use throughout the year like this All Things Thanks set I used today. . Or maybe a small set that has a few different images and then pair it with a sentiment set. As you look through the catalog notice how there are sets for many occasions, or sentiment sets that are just birthday or just thank you or even some multiple occasions. Those sets are so easy to pair with just some designer series paper and maybe some note cards and envelope packs add in a couple coordinating ink colors to match your DSP and you can get miles and miles of use out of these few products. AND....they don't take up a lot of room.

Stamps

Paper

Ink

Note Cards

(you will need a bit of adhesive like the snail adhesive we carry, got to be able to stick down that DSP) LOL

It's just that simple and you can be on the road to making handmade cards for your family and friends. So don't get overwhelmed, start small.

You don't need to have it all ....all at once hahahaha. (I'm so guilty of that) you can start simple and build on your craft from there if you like. But think of the joy you'll spread to your family and friends as you give them hand made, by you, cards and greetings.

Today is the last day of the 2017-18 Annual Catalog so if there is anything you have had your eye on today is the last day to order from it so get your order in.

Tomorrow ....is the first day of the new 2018-19 Annual Catalog and let me tell you there are some really fun products to see in there. Oh and all the new colors....OH MY! I just love our new color palette. I have already started changing up things here on my website and as tomorrow progresses I will be adding the digital version of the new catalog and some fun bundles and things to get you started. The catalog ordering doesn't go live until 1pm Mountain Time tomorrow. because it takes them a little time to get the website switched over but be ready to surf the site for all the new goodies.

Have a great day, thanks for stopping by......HAPPY STAMPING......CAROL

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page