top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Christmas in the Making - Stampin' Up!


Christmas in the Making - Stampin' Blends

Today's card share is a simple layout for a fun colored in image. I was able to practice a bit more with the Stampin' Blends markers (coming November 1st). I love this Christmas in the Making stamp set #144845 The vintage ladies are so fun to add color to.

With the Stampin' Blends because they are alcohol based markers you want to stamp your image onto Thick Whisper White Cardstock #140272 with the Momento Tuxedo Black ink pad #132708 and let it dry real well. Now you can hit it with your heat gun if you'd like to speed up the process but I like to just stamp it and set it aside while I get the rest of my supplies ready. But it's def important to be sure that's it dry. You don't want to smear it. Then you can start coloring in your image. I start with the lightest shade first. color in most of the section (you'll want to work in small sections because you need it to be still moist when you are blending colors). So I do all over color with the light shade and then come in with the darker shade and add the shadowing. Think of it as where would the light be hitting it and where would the shadows be forming? The darker marker gives the shadows effect in turn giving your image depth.

I'm still learning all this myself LOL I think I've mentioned before that I'm no artist. Hence the reason to practice practice practice. (for me anyway).

So once you figure out your shaded areas and you color in the area you'll want to quickly go back in with the lighter shade and blend those lines to smooth out the color. You shouldn't have a line of demarcation, it should be a smooth transition of color shade.

So that's pretty much what I know. Just enough to make me dangerous but yet simple enough to not be intimidated. Again....PRACTICE. One of my hardest things is to stay in the lines so I have my struggles LOL.

Ok I have babbled on long enough. So I will close this up. These awesome markers that can make me look like I know what I'm doing are available November 1st. They will be offered in 12 our awesome Stampin' Up! colors in both a light shade and a dark shade. You can buy them separately or in a combo pack of light and dark and they will also be available as a full set. There are also Ivory and Bronze for skin tones and a color lifter to help give your images a finishing touch. So Be Ready....these pens are awesome! You will want to have these in your collection.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page