top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

6 x 6 One Sheet Wonder


So today I'm going to talk some about One Sheet Wonders. What is it? For those of you who aren't familiar with them it's a fun way to get the most out of your designer series paper. Now I have seen these done in 12 x 12 sizes as well as 8.5 x 11 and then 6 x 6. I generally take a pack of designer series paper (DSP) when I get it and I take one 12 x 12 sheet of each pattern (usually there are at least 2 of each) and cut them into four 6 x 6 sheets. To me it's a more manageable size and it's not so hard to dive into. So when I want to get a lot of cards done quickly I use a one sheet wonder technique like this. Now this is a design that I came up with myself but if you search on Pinterest you will find a ton of different configurations. This is just one that I like to use. So once I have cut my 6 x 6 into sections like this on is, if it's double sided then you can always flip a few over to use the coordinating print on the back. So if you look at this piece from Merry Little Christmas DSP pack it has an Old Olive dot print on one side and a Basic Black leaf print if you will on the back. So I just flip a few over. Like the pic below...

Then I will start making some card bases 4.25 x 11 in size. Then fold in half to make a 4.25 x 5.5 sized card. This part is completely up to you on the size of your card bases. I then start playing around with the pieces from my OSW and matching them up with whatever suits me at the time LOL Some of the bases I will texture emboss some not. Just play around with it and see where it takes you. I'll even add layers behind the DSP This config gave me seven pieces of DSP so I did 6 cards and a tag. see below...

I also threw in some punches. I used the Banner Triple punch as well as the Everyday Label punch because it matched the stamp set I was using. Merry Little Labels from the Holiday Catalog. Just so it would all coordinate nicely.

If you are still with me...Below are the cards that I came up with. But believe me there are so many different ways you can spin this. If you are really creative you don't even need a OSW pattern you can just wing it. I just like the challenge of only using a certain size piece and building my card around it.

Now this is just how I do it. It's really a no rules just right kind of a thing. But give this OSW pattern a try and see what you think of it. Now another thing that I like to do is stamp my own pattern paper and then work it as a OSW. I just take a piece of 6 x 6 white or vanilla cardstock and random stamp it then section it out and so forth.

I hope this gives you some ideas and gets you using all that pretty DSP you have been collecting. If you are low on DSP there's a great sale going on for Buy 3 get one free of certain patterns There's a graphic below that shows which ones are on special. If I can help you in anyway you can email me at stampinwithcarolread@gmail.com and I'd be glad to help. You can shop my online store for all these great products that I used HERE

I am running a personal special through me if you order at least $75 between now and the end of October I will send you a new roll of Real Red 1/8 ribbon from the Holiday Catalog. So keep that in mind while you are shopping. Have a wonderful day and THANK YOU for stopping in.

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page