top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

BSU-Retiform Technique

Hello and Welcome to this weeks Broke Stampers Unite Challenge. ( BSU) This week is Technique week and it was decided we would do the Retifom Technique. This technique has been a round in the stamping world for quite a few years...You basically take some post it notes some sponge daubers and a blank white or cream colored cardstock and sponge out a grid pattern or sections of the card base to create a background effect.

Now I'll be honest this has never been a favorite technique of mine. But it seems to have made a come back recently and so we are starting to see more and more of it. I watched a video that a gal did where instead of using the post it's and masking off areas in a triangle or trapezoid look she used a stencil with various square sizes cut out of it. Ok I was warming up to that idea. But wait....I'm still not a fan of it. So given that idea....I took mine a step further and used Framelits as my stencils and I didn't grid it out I used Circles. Wait what? Does that still qualify? Well the lady in the video basically said you had to section it off and sponge around it, then stamp in it. So I'm jumping off the instruction train there and sticking with my circles idea.

so what I ended up with was sections sponged off and stamped in. Hahahaha okay well it might not be true Retiform but hey it works for me. Like my BSU mate said....maybe I'll start my own trend. LOL

The colors I used here are Garden Green, Pumpkin Pie, Crushed Curry and Early Espresso. The stamp set I used was the Vintage Leaves...(personal fav for fall) and the greeting came from Eastern Beauty stamp set. Like I said I used the stitched circle framelits as my stencils by just laying down the stencil sponging around it and wiping off the ink from the framelit when I was done.

So there you have it....Carol's version of the Retiform technique. Now hop on over to Terri's Blog HERE and Stace's Blog HERE if you haven't already and see how it's supposed to be done. (I still like my interpretation better hahahahahah) Have a great day and Thank You so much for stopping in. Oh and don't forget you can always play along on our Facebook page and share your creation HERE

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page