top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarol Read

Quilt Builder Framelits


Today's card share is another creation from the Quilt Builder framelits and Christmas Quilt stamp set.

I started with framelits on this. I took a piece of Tempting Turquoise, Lemon Lime Twist, Flirty Flamingo, and Chocolate Chip card stock and ran each one through the big shot using the detailed square shapes that look like this.

By using both of them together it saves time and my elbow. LOL so you end up with four piles that look like this....Be sure to save all of your pieces.

Once I had my colors I wanted all cut out I started building the multicolored block. This actually gave me four finished blocks when i was done....here's the other three

(hint) I cut out 4 separate pieces of white cardstock with the outter square shape only so that I had a backing on my finished blocks. I just added adhesive to one side of it in strips with my fast fuse then laid the detail square down first and proceeded with adding in the colored pieces to my liking.

when I had all my squares built I then placed all of them into the Quilt Top textured impressions embossing folder and ran them through the machine. The result was a great textured quilted look to each block.

Once i had my blocks done it was time to start building my card base for it. On the card above I used a base of Lemon Lime Twist and embossed a layer of Chocolate Chip cardstock cut at 4 x 5 ish. another great hint is to be sure you have your size cut before you emboss it....it's very hard to get a good cut with your trimmer once it's embossed. It just tears it up and makes a mess. (yes I went down that road...it wasn't pretty had to start over)

I glued the embossed layer down with some Mono Liquid glue because its my favorite to use with embossed paper. It stays stuck! LOL I fished up with adding the quilt block to the front and a bow made of Lemon Lime Twist Ribbon. I stamped my sentiment on a small scrap of Whisper White cardstock and punched the edge with the banner triple punch.

Hope you guys give this a try. This set is so much fun and doesn't have to be only for Christmas.

Play around with color combinations. This was my first go at building a block but I will most certainly play around with other colors. These little blacks would make a great set of 3x3 note cards for someone as well.

I'm going to wrap this up I'm sorry it was so long today but yes I'm feeling better finally! Now to go take care of all the errands I have been putting off. Thank You again for stopping in. Have a great day.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We’ve Moved

Hey everyone I just wanted to drop a note and let you know we’ve moved. Things have changed. You can find me at www.stampincarolread.com

bottom of page